Leaving Already?

17 Jun

So, I’m already leaving the Netherlands next week? It seems as though I’ve just arrived. I’ve just started my life here. I can’t believe it’s already over! With only a few days left here, I’ve really started to think about my first moments here, and how bad the culture shock was when I arrived. And thinking back, I really wasn’t shocked. I just felt at home. Sure there were moments where I thought I just wanted to go home and this is the worst, but only the first few days. Then…immediately, I felt at home. Like I belonged here. Now that I will be back in the States soon, I realized, I’m more worried and scared of reverse culture shock than I was about coming here. It’s unbelievable that I feel so foreign in the place I’ve lived my whole life.

Image

This has really been the greatest experience of my life. I have made some of the best friends of my life here, probably because they are similar to me…we all live for traveling and experiencing new things, instead of being so closed-minded. I’ve learned so much about a brand new culture that really feels like what I’ve been waiting for my whole life. Like I’ve said before about the culture and lifestyle here, it’s so laid back and everyone is so friendly. No matter how old the people are or what area they are from, they all want to help you and speak English to you! And I love the bikes everywhere! It’s crazy to say “I’ve lived in Europe!”. Maybe only for 5 months, but it feels like I belong and I really do live here. And I can’t imagine leaving. I really hope one day I can move back here. This has opened my eyes so much to what else is out there than just the Midwest, than just America.

Image

Kings Day!

Image

But, before I go back, I still have some traveling to do! So stay tuned for blogs about the various places I will be going in the coming month!

Next stop, Finland and Estonia!

Leave a Reply

