Navigating the City

11 Jun

Opera HouseHi everyone! My name is Mary and I’m Sophomore studying English and Professional Writing. This summer I’m taking part in the Sydney Internship Program. I’ve been placed at an amazing company called Edge, who do content marketing and magazine publishing for multiple magazines.

I have never lived in a big city, and I have never had a professional internship. Both of those come together in the Sydney Internship Program, and it can be a little overwhelming at first.

The biggest challenge to deal with is probably the public transport. We get a small taste of the pains of public transport with the busses at Purdue, but the stakes are higher here in Sydney. At Purdue, if you miss a bus, the worst case is about a 20-minute walk and sneaking into the back of class with maybe a cross look from your professor. In Sydney, if I miss a bus it means I’ll have to wait around another 20 minutes for the next one, which means that I might be late for my ferry, which only runs every 30 minutes, which means I’ll be anywhere from fifteen minutes to an hour late to work. Needless to say, I try to be on time for the bus. Thankfully, there are multiple ways to get everywhere, and after just two weeks here, I’m really starting to get a hang of the public transport system. I’m even trying a different route to work tomorrow that might cut my commute time in half! Also, if I get confused about where I’m going, I can always just ask one of the bus drivers. Most of them have that Australian laid-back, “no worries” attitude, and are happy to help.

The Australian “no worries” attitude is prevelant everywhere, but especially in the workplace. When I went in for my “interview” it was really just a casual conversation, and then they put me to work. Australians believe that the mind needs breaks in order to be happy and to work at its best. I get an hour for lunch, which I usually eat on the beach while watching the surfers. Coffee breaks are encouraged. The atmsphere of the office is, in general, very laid back, but all of the work still gets done, and gets done well.

From the start, I’ve been treated like an equal in the office. I haven’t had to deal with any of the lowly-intern attitude that sometimes happens for interns in the states. I haven’t even had to make any coffee! There is some grunt work involved, but that is bound to happen in any entry-level job. At Edge, I work on a couple of the magazines, finding events for the calendar, writing small pieces, and probably bigger ones as I continue to work there. I even got the chance to interview a musician, which was unbelievably cool! I haven’t been here long, but I have learned so much in this short time, and I know this internship will be an invaluable expierence to have under my belt when applying for jobs in the future.

Leave a Reply

