Top 5 Reasons for Studying in Amman, Jordan

10 Jun

Tanner CamelHi! My name is Holly and I’m a senior at Purdue University in Aeronautical Engineering Technology. For the next two months, I’m going to study abroad with CIEE (Council on International Educational Exchange) in Amman, Jordan. I’ll be a student at the University of Jordan, learning Modern Standard Arabic as well as the Jordanian dialect.¬† With two semesters of Modern Standard Arabic under my belt, I have a solid foundation upon which to build and I can’t wait to continue to learn the language and the culture. I’ll be able to participate in a variety of cultural activities and excursions which I’m really excited for! So here are my top five reasons for wanting to study in Amman:

  1. Obviously, I wouldn’t be participating in a 7-week intensive language program if I didn’t really want to learn the language, and I’ve heard that total immersion is the way to go. So from my teachers to taxi drivers, I’ll be exchanging Arabic with as many locals that will humor me.
  2. The food. Some things just aren’t the same outside the Middle East: shawarma, hummus, baklava, and mansaf (the national dish of Jordan) are just a few.
  3. Coffee and shisha cafes. I’m a big fan of both and Jordan has a lot of them.
  4. Visiting Petra. If you’ve never taken an overnight trip to a World Heritage Site, then it should be on your bucket list.
  5. Making new friends, both American and abroad. I’ll have the opportunity to learn alongside students from 34 colleges across the US and be paired with a fellow Jordanian student. I can’t wait for this trip to start!
Leave a Reply

