Off to The Nederlands

28 Jan

ImageTwo days to go until I leave for the trip of a lifetime. How stereotypical and redundant to say “I can’t believe I’m actually leaving.” But seriously, I really can’t believe I’m leaving! It’s been a long and grueling time trying to make this happen. My whole family has studied abroad, pretty much, so I knew I was going to go too. It’s just something we take really seriously. But figuring out all the details definitely took a lot of work. “How am I going to pay for it?” was obviously my first question–before I even thought about where to go. Once I got that figured out, I decided the best place for me would be somewhere in Europe, so I could travel around to multiple places easily. And one of my top priorities was that most of the country spoke English because I’m most definitely not fluent in any other language (sometimes not even in English). But I wanted to go somewhere that most people don’t go, like England. Not that there is anything wrong with England, but I’m sure I’ll get to experience that another time in my life. So I landed on the 5th happiest country in the world, voted two years in a row–the Netherlands.

I look forward to immersing myself in a new culture and learning things I never could have if I didn’t have this experience. The classes are taught differently, the food might be strange, and it’s very cloudy and rainy, but I can’t wait to get there and live in another country! I can’t wait to explore Europe and figure it out all on my own. Maybe I’ll get lost, but I’ll learn so much and grow as a person trying to find my way back.

As of now, I need to focus on packing, still. Hopefully I can get everything to fit! I’m so filled with nerves I can hardly sit still.

Leave a Reply

