Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

29 May

Dr. Seuss said it best. Life can take you on some pretty magnificent journeys. I have never left this country before, and in 9 hours, I will call London, England my home for the next month. Saying that is so unreal to me. I have always wanted to go to Europe, but the reality of that ever happening was quite slim until this previous semester. I’ve taken the past couple of months “one day at a time,” trying to balance all my assignments, readings, and travel preparations accordingly. I thought I had done pretty well, until I woke up this morning and realized that the day was finally here, and I still had so much to do.

Am I prepared? Not at all. I’ve spent the last week checking the London weather every day, seeing it fluctuate from 60 degrees and cloudy one day, to 73 and sunny the next. What in the world do I bring?! My suitcase is filled from everything to sweaters to shorts to sandals to boots. I may not be the most stylish girl in London, but I will be ready for any type of weather London throws at me.

Am I excited? Absolutely. London has the type of culture and history that the U.S. can only dream of having. In just a few hours, I’ll be in the area once inhabited by The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Virginia Woolf, and Charles Dickens. I will be a witness to the Queen’s Jubilee, and an observer of preparation for the Summer Olympics.

As I’m writing this, I cannot believe I am writing this. I can’t wait to spend the next 28 days in a great country surrounded by amazing people I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know this past week. See you all across the pond!

Leave a Reply

