“Not all those who wander are lost.” – J. R. R. Tolkien

18 May

“When we get out of the glass bottle of our ego and when we escape like the squirrels in the cage of our personality and get into the forest again, we shall shiver with cold and fright. But things will happen to us so that we don’t know ourselves. Cool, unlying life will rush in.” – D. H. Lawrence

All my finals are done and all I have left to do is pack……:). I am not ready to leave; I will truly miss this country. I was just starting to feel at home here. To finish off the semester I have complied my “Top Ten” List. Top Ten things I am going to Miss about Ireland:

1.)    Sitting on my third floor window ledge watching the rainbows come and go

2.)    Worship Service at Abundant life Church.

3.)    Dinners with my Irish family

4.)    Salt and Vinegar Chips (French Fries) runs with SFC Bible Study group

5.)    Rain….truly; I don’t know what it means to be dry.

6.)    Shopping at Pennys

7.)    Brown Bread and Irish Butter.

8.)    Castle touring. There is something inspiring about 1000 year old buildings.

9.)    Small town Pubs.

10.) Brown Sauce. Really, don’t laugh until you try it.

When I first got here, I felt so out of place. I was annoyed and everything was so different that it was almost physically painful. I had all these expectations and none of them were coming true. But then I learned something. Ireland was not made for Tyffanie. God did not create Ireland with me in mind. After I got over myself I truly started to see Ireland for what it is: Beautiful. This revelation changed everything. I started off here wanting to go home but as I start packing  and as I prepare to turn my back on my home for these past 4 months, I feel homesick. Everyone keeps asking if I will ever come back and I try and find the words but all I can think is “I don’t want to leave in the first place.” Do you remember trying to catch fireflies when you were young? And how they would always evade you? That’s how time is to me. I keep trying to catch up and its always faster.  I have been told that when I get home I will fall in love with America all over again and for that I can’t wait. Actually there are 5 things about America that I am actually crazy excited for:

1.)    My mom. This is the first mother’s day I am 6000 miles away. It just doesn’t feel right.

2.)    My Grandmother. 4 months away from your Grandmother really should be against the law.

3.)    Ruffle potato chips with mustard.

4.)    Using “Z” instead of “S” For example: Oxidized, not Oxdised.

5.)    My nieces and nephew.

Okay, now I must get going. I have not finished packing and still need to do a little bit of shopping.

For the very last time,this time,  over and out from this not-so-new Shannonsider.

Tyffanie Turner

“The whole object of travel is not to set foot on foreign land; it is at last to set foot on one’s own country as a foreign land.” – G. K. Chesterton

Leave a Reply

