Busy in Ireland!

24 Feb

I am so busy! It’s crazy but a good crazy! I have finally settled in enough to where I have a life in Ireland!

Between classes, Krav Maga (street style self-defense classes) bible studies, talking about what Jesus is doing in my life, hanging with friends, and traveling, I barely have time to breathe. So I will start from the beginning…..

Grocery Shopping:I love grocery shopping, I love the fresh veggies, the smell of new food in my cart, and the fact that Irish butter must be made by God himself, its so……DELISH! What I don’t like? The prices of everything other than fresh veggies and butter in Ireland….sheesh…living on an island is an adjustment.

Traveling:   Dublin to Limerick to Galway to Belfast to a suburb  of Dublin to Galway to Limerick to Cork and back to Limerick! I have been living out of a book-bag it seems for 5 straight weeks.  I have learned some very valuable lessons.

  • 1 pair of jeans can last you longer than you have ever imagined.
  • You really don’t need more than 1 pair of shoes if you plan outfits accordingly.
  • The British pound looks very similar to the Euro, but most places won’t take both and they definitely won’t take the dollar.
  • Cool ranch Doritos taste better In Ireland, onions rings do not.
  • A smile is universal.
  • Irish deserts are amazing. (Butter crème and homemade jam changes your day. They also change your waistline)
  • God has his fingerprints in the hills of Ireland; it’s too gorgeous for any other explanation.

Classes:  Honestly, they aren’t too challenging. Classes that have perquisites back home don’t here, so I find myself over qualified in most of them.  Nothing too special here, other than I can now find all of my classes without any hesitation and actually showed someone else where to go! That was the highlight of my day.

Know what I love about Ireland?  The country does not start functioning until 9am.  What I dislike? It does not stop functioning until 3am. From the time I wake until 3am I am on the move. If I’m not punching my opponent in Krav Maga, I’m praying and asking God for energy (HAHA!), or eating an authentic Indian (yes I meant to say Indian) dinner with my roommates, or maybe I’m chilling at the pub listening to real Irish music (including the pennywhistle).  Either way, I am not in bed until 1am on most days, more than likely 3am.

What’s on the agenda for today? Oh nothing much….just dinner at Texas steak out and a rugby game afterwards? Did I mention that I have 7 hours of class today before dinner?

Over and out from this side of the Atlantic,

-Tyffanie

 

2 Responses to “Busy in Ireland!”

  1. lyonsroarforgod February 24, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    Sounds wonderful! Which city in Ireland are you based in? Are you there for the semester? Enjoy every moment! 🙂

    Slainte,
    Lisa
    http://www.lisalyons.com

    • Tyffanie February 24, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

      I’m in Limerick, southeast of Galway and North of Cork. And yes I am here for the semester! Its been a blast!

Leave a Reply

