Thats it ?!

30 Jan

Funny moments: Waiting about 30 minutes for the water to boil only to have my roommate come in and tell me you have to flip a switch to start the stove and then turn the dial…..

American Moments: Shopping at the milk market (Farmers Market) I brought 3 organic potatoes from some guy and he charged me 50 cents. I smile and say out loud that’s it? Then quickly realize how rude I was.  I apologize and walk away. Only to find out later on you can buy 15 for 1.50….

Some things never change: You never give homeless people money here ( oh really? ) We were given a 20 minute lecture on the proper way to avoid them. (Oh I miss Chicago)

First week of class: New appreciation for the courage international students have. Its hard being the new girl. But it’s kinda fun, my new excuse for being late, losing my key, or not understanding the money- sorry, i’m a visiting student.

Family Moments: I cooked for friends on the program.  Limerick became home that night.  Seven people, one common purpose, to eat. Oh how I love the dinner table. No matter your issues, your personality, or your beliefs, you have to eat.

Purpose: With joy to run this race with patience. To grow more into the person God wants me to be. To learn about a culture quite different from mine but also to teach my own culture. This is a culture EXCHANGE.

I have been in Limerick for a little over a week. It’s been a roller-coaster. God isn’t through yet. He’s barely started. My job? Hang on tight and enjoy the ride.

Gar and Siochain (Love and Peace)

from the Visiting Student. 🙂

Leave a Reply

