An Irish Drought?

29 Sep

The country doesn’t quite know what to do with itself right now. By the Irish nativist perspective, the country is in a severe drought! But really, all embellishments aside, it hasn’t rained in the last week and a half. What’s more is that it’s actually been sunny for the most part! Whilst my Irish counterparts are a bit bewildered by the long periods of sunshine, I have found this anecdote to the states to be a welcomed addition to my experience since the last blog post.

Although I had not mentioned it to you last week, a friend and I were considering jumping on a plane and heading to London. Spontaneity has since gotten the best of us and we will be hopping on a plane in approximately 40 hours. This is my first “big” trip since traveling to the Emerald Isle four weeks ago. Although the flight is only two hours long, the anticipation has been successfully distracting me from just about every form of productivity in the last week. I’ve sort of been that person in conversation who can’t help but to bring up redundant topics. The culture. The history. Our “Motherland”. This might show that I’m a novice, or maybe just uncultured. Fortunately, my housemates and other Irish friends have been more than willing to give me their two cents of advice on the mecca of the United Kingdom.

The truth of the matter is that experiencing different countries and their eclectic stories is the reason I chose to study abroad, and in particular, chose to travel in Europe. I hope to soak up as much of the ambiance as possible, and to have some good details to report  to you all next week!

2 Responses to “An Irish Drought?”

  1. Tom and Jody Koehl October 11, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Katie, Grandpa Koehl and I are enjoying your blog so much!Thanks for sharing your travel and enthusiasm for Ireland and its customs and people. Jody Koehl (“Grandma”)

  2. Jordan Foxworthy October 12, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Glad you are getting to travel! ENJOY IT! We will miss you next week at Homecoming, but you know we will have beverages for you. I’m sure you will have one as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

