Murphy

7 Sep

Good ol’ Murphy and his law; “Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong”. He was a wise man and these are words to live by when it comes to preparing for long trips such as this one. Sometimes you can prepare all you want, but the forces of nature will make it difficult, and it is up to you to overcome it.

Packing for my trip to Seville, hurricane Irene hit my town pretty roughly in Puerto Rico. My flights were canceled because of this phenomenon and were re-routed to New York. However, this was a short respite since New York was also hit hard by the hurricane; I was left with no plane ticket and my bags collecting dust.

This is the moment where it is expected that you panic, that you turn in grief, that you lament your choices. This crucial moment in time is when, however, you bust out Murphy’s weakness, his antidote, his kryptonite: the power of positive thinking. In this moment, I held up my chin, accepted the worse, and dug deep to be okay with my circumstances while hoping, nay, expecting the best possible outcome.

With no internet and electricity or water at my disposal in the hurricane aftermath, I was left with few options, but I did not break. Both my CIEE and Purdue advisers helped me through, and together we dealt with the possibility that I might be late. And when the mountain returned to a molehill, I stood atop.

I am now here in Seville, exhausted from going through this last minute ordeal. And I couldn’t be happier.

The moral here is that you can plan all you want for your trips, but there are bound to be some speed-bumps in your journey. These are situations you cannot change, but can accept and grow from them. If you keep that positive attitude you can get through anything, and this especially rings true of the application process for study abroad.

Because let me tell you; one look to your destination from the airplane window will be the beginning of the rest of your life, and it will be worth whatever (now) minuscule setbacks you went through.

I will live here, I will change here, I will grow here, but the energy that will drive me is my positivism.  That will never change.

I am ready for whatever Seville will provide for me; I just hope it is ready for me.

My name is Manny Suarez, and Seville will be my home for the next 4 months. Words cannot express the joy I feel, but I’ll definitely give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

