Getting antsy for Africa

1 Sep

I can’t believe I will be leaving for Kenya in about 2 weeks! This is going to be my first experience outside of the US and I am immersing myself into a culture that is so unlike my own. I don’t think that I’ll have too hard of an adjustment to the lifestyle, although I am going to miss facebook 😉 My experiences at Purdue have given me a broad perspective on the diversity of the world and I’m eager to put these skills into play.

So am I prepared to go? No! I have so many supplies that I need to get before I depart and I really only have until the 24th to do so. I will be spending some time in NJ before I leave and I am running around with a check list like a mad woman! I just finished getting all of my vaccines (don’t wait until the last second like me) and I still need get some Africa appropriate clothes. I didn’t realized how much I would have to buy before going, or that I would have to cram it all into 2 suitcases AND make it under 50 lbs each. Good thing I function well under pressure. 🙂

Overall, I am so excited to start a new chapter in my life and I think Africa is an amazing place to do so.

Leave a Reply

