Getting Ready

8 Aug

With a little under a month to go before I depart for Freiburg, Germany, I’m starting to wish summer would slow down a bit! I’m not so much nervous about living and studying in Germany for a year, it’s more along the lines of “Do I have everything ready? No? What do I need again, anyway?”

Apart from that, I’m extremely excited about my impending program. As a German major, this experience is obviously more than just learning about a different culture; this is about what I’m going to do with my life! Personally, I could never accept a degree in German if I did not spend time studying there. This is about me doing everything in my power to become completely fluent in the German language and as familiar with the culture as I am with America’s. I’m sure there will be times when I find myself out of my comfort zone, and that is exactly what I want.

So at the beginning of September, this average, good-natured 20-year-old from Pittsburgh will uproot himself and head all the way to Freiburg, Germany to study.  I’ve been to Germany once before, though only for a week, and I cannot wait to return. I know that I’ll experience culture shock and that I’m going to convince myself that it won’t be that bad–only to have that notion completely destroyed.  But that’s all part of the experience, right?

Leave a Reply

