From Midwest to Metropolis

29 Jun

As the summer in Indiana continues to get hotter and becomes peppered throughout with more and more stormy weather, I find myself staring at the world’s ugliest suitcase (a flowery pattern that would be more at home in the 60’s, in case you were wondering), and trying hard to stay calm. As of today, I have exactly 30 more days left in small-town Indiana: 30 days, 5 hours, and 20 minutes to be exact. But, hey, who’s counting, right?

It seems like such a huge amount of time for some, but for me, it seems like too little. After all, wasn’t it just yesterday one of my best friend dragged me to the study abroad fair? An eye-blink ago I could have sworn I was still filling out paperwork! And now, I’m on the cusp of actually getting on a plane and leaving the billowing cornfields and flat plains of Indiana long behind me- and I’m terrified. In the past five years, I’ve never been farther than Maryland, at best. Soon, I’ll be thousands of miles away- not only out of the state, but out of the country.

As excited as I am, it’s hard not to be scared.  Years, months, even weeks ago, I never would have thought myself capable of even attempting to go so far from what I know. I’m from a low-income family, a first generation college student, and a triple major- what on earth possessed me to even think about something this big? The answer: my friends and family (even as cheesy as that is, it’s the truth).  I wouldn’t be here without them- they pushed, prodded, and in some cases, dragged me kicking and screaming when I was ready to throw in the towel and just quit. So, as I lay here, trying to sleep and  freaking out as I stare at that same ugly suitcase that has been propped up by the closet for the last two weeks or so (okay, the past month!) I have only one thing to say to them: Thank you.

Also, it’s totally all your guys’ fault that I can’t sleep because of the butterflies.

After all, without these pushy, amazing, frustrating, wonderful people in my life, I wouldn’t be about to cash in on a lifetime of dreaming and finally, finally make it to Japan.

Leave a Reply

