It’s Florence Y’all

16 May

It’s Florence Y’all. Not really. Everyone from Cincinnati will get that joke. Florence, KY and Florence, IT are not very similar as one could guess. I flew in to Florence yesterday and I wasn’t really sure what to expect. The only time I’ve actually seen Italy is in movies and TV shows, so i was half expecting everyone to look like someone out of The Godfather or the Sopranos. Flying over here was an adventure as well. I was surprised by how prevalent English is in other parts of the world. I flew Air France from Boston to Paris and then from Paris to Florence and all the flight attendants and pilots spoke French as well as English. Even the airport was filled with signs directing English speaking travelers where to go. You’d be hard pressed to find a city in the U.S. with another language as prevalent as English. That’s not to say that traveling was a breeze. The Paris-DeGaulle airport is very confusing and you really have to know where you are going to keep from getting lost. Luckily I found some English speaking travelers who were on the same flight as me, and so I knew I was going in the right direction. The flight from Paris to Florence was really beautiful. I was lucky enough to have a window seat for the flight and I had a great view of the Alps and northern Italy. I took a cab from the airport to the Hotel De Lanzi where I would be spending the night because I arrived a day earlier than most other people in the program. After checking in around 10:30 local time, I could finally let myself relax. It had been a long and exhausting day of travel and I had finally reached my destination. I didn’t let myself sleep though because that is the cardinal rule of traveling abroad, well maybe I took a tiny nap. This is mostly due to the fact that I got a total of 10 hours of sleep in the past 48 hours.

After forcing myself to out of bed, I went to explore the city. The Duomo, or the famous cathedral in Florence, which was very close to there I was staying the night, served as a marking point to prevent me from getting lost. From there I found many famous landmarks without really knowing it, including the Piazza Vecchio, Piazza Repubblica, Santa Croce and the Ponte Vecchio, which I figured out quickly what it was by the crowd it drew. I then, with the little Italian I knew, was able to order a sandwich from a small store, grabbed some gelato and headed in for the night. I know that a great adventure awaits me, and I am ready to make the most out of every day that I am here.

One Response to “It’s Florence Y’all”

  1. boileradmin May 20, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    Sounds like you are off to a great start! Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

