Good-byes are the Worst

25 Apr

Well… my semester abroad is winding down, and I am NOT PLEASED! I am absolutely, positively NOT READY to leave Ireland! My semester has gone by so fast. I feel like I just got here a few weeks ago.  But my mountain of final papers and projects due says otherwise. The past couple of weeks have been pretty overwhelming for me. I’ve had major assignments due in all of my classes, and I don’t think my professors realize that I don’t want to spend the last few weeks in Ireland doing homework! You’d think I was supposed to be studying here or something! I don’t know what gave them that idea! HA! To add to that, my mom just came to visit me. We went to the beautiful Dingle Peninsula, explored Dublin, and spent an amazing weekend in Munich, Germany! While it was so great to see her and show her around, it was bittersweet because I know I have to go back to the States soon.

This week I have the last of my papers and exams due, and I have to cram in as much last-minute sightseeing and activities that I can.  Wednesday will be the hardest day, though. That will be my last day with my internship at the Abbey Theatre, and I don’t know if I can handle that. I have loved every moment of my internship, and I feel like I’ve just settled into the Abbey family. I love everyone I work with, and my time spent with Mairead in the Archives has been so eye-opening! I really love doing archive work for a theatre with as much history as the Abbey! I never would have thought of this career path before, so I am unbelievably appreciative of my internship placement. I could honestly see myself doing something like this in the future. Now if only the Abbey would hire me as a full-time Assistant Archivist! That would be perfect! Then I could do what I love in the city that I never want to leave! I think that’s a great solution!

Wednesday night will also be hard because we’re having our farewell dinner with all of the IES students and staff. I can’t imagine saying ‘good-bye’ to these people who I have been so close to the entire semester! They’re my family, and we’ve been through everything together these past few months! How can I say ‘good-bye?!’ I think there will definitely be some tears that night (and for those of you who know me well… crying’s not something I do very often). It’s going to be a very overwhelming day, and I don’t even want to think about it!

To combat my sadness, I have been thinking up ways to visit my friends and come back to Ireland. I’m already planning to take a road trip with some of the IU students in my program to Ithaca college in New York where many of my friends go to school. So that will be great! There’s also been mention of a graduation/reunion cruise, which I think would be fantastic! I am also looking into grad school option in Ireland. Hopefully, a trip back to Ireland will be possible in the near future! It’s such a beautiful, friendly country! I HAVE TO COME BACK! We’ll see what the future has in store for me. I know this is not ‘good-bye forever.’ I’ll keep in touch with my friends, IES staff, and Mairead at the Abbey, and I know I’ll come back to Ireland. I still have so much I want to see and do here. My relationship with this country is far from being over!

Well… I should go work on these final papers. Wish me good luck with the week!

Leave a Reply

