Travel = Love

16 Mar

So it’s official… I love living in Europe! It is so cheap and easy to fly from Dublin to another European country with airlines like RyanAir and Aer Lingus.  Besides Ireland and Northern Ireland, I have already been to England, France, Scotland, and Sweden.  In less than a month I can add Germany to my list as well!  Weekend travel around Europe is just so exciting! I cannot even believe how much I have seen in such a short amount of time!

For my mid-term break, I spent 2 days in London where I got to see Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, etc. Then I took the Chunnel to Paris where I spent 2 days exploring the Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame, the Louvre, etc. I then flew back to Dublin for night, only to leave the next morning for the program-sponsored trip to Belfast and Portrush in Northern Ireland. 

In Belfast, I got to take political tours and see firsthand the conflict areas I have been studying about all semester. Very interesting. Then we took a bus along the coast of Northern Ireland. We got to see beaches, Dunluce Castle, the Carrick-A-Rede rope bridge, and the Giant’s Causeway, all of which were breathtakingly beautiful! Northern Ireland is absolutely stunning with its forty shades of green and the bluest water I have ever seen! While it was a very busy mid-term break, it was definitely well-worth the travel exhaustion. 

After my break, I had to go back to classes and my internship for a week before heading off to Edinburgh, Scotland for the weekend.  We were there Thursday night until Monday morning, and we stayed in a hostel that was literally right across the street from Edinburgh Castle! The location could not have been better! We hunted down J.K. Rowling’s  Harry Potter inspirations and saw Dolly the cloned sheep in Edinburgh. Then we went looking for Nessie, the Loch Ness monster, during our Scottish Highlands day trip.  All in all, a very relaxing and fun trip. Getting back Monday morning before classes was not particularly fun though. But I only had to do work for a few days before I was back at the airport Thursday night for my next and most recent weekend trip.

I just got back Sunday from a trip to Stockholm, Sweden, and it was absolutely fantastic! Stockholm is such a beautiful city, and I cannot imagine a better weekend trip! I absolutely loved it there. We got to stay on a boat hostel in a perfect location on the water by the main centre of the city.  We spent one day exploring the Nobel Museum, the Royal Palace, and the gorgeous city. The next full day, we took a ferry to another island of Stockholm where we visited a couple great museums (Vasa and Nordiska) and saw the wonderful arctic animals of Skansen. The reindeer by far my favorite! It felt like a little, old Christmas town, and I loved it! Later, we went to the Ice Bar where we got to wear hooded capes and drink out of ice glasses. Awesome! After that we went to Restaurang Sweden-China where we had the best Chinese food! Not exactly what I would expect to find in Sweden, but I highly recommend it! Sweden was absolutely fantastic, and I am not just saying that because my family has ancestral roots there! It is a beautiful place, and I hope to go back there during the other seasons some day! All in all, I would have to say that I have been keeping very busy with  my travels, but I do not regret a single trip! I have been having the best time exploring Europe, and I know it is just the tip of the iceberg for my future travels! These trips have inspired me to really get out there and see the world around me! Life is too short to just sit around in the middle of the United States.  There is a much bigger world out there, and I dare you to go out there and take advantage of it! I promise you won’t regret a single moment!

One Response to “Travel = Love”

  1. Michael March 21, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    It is great that you are able to see so much, but I’d like to hear more about what you are experiencing.

Leave a Reply

