Studying in Seville?

17 Feb

After a request from my biggest fan (my mom) and after reading the posts of my fellow amigos abroad I have realized that although I have had two weeks of intensive session and a week and a half of real classes I haven’t even talked about my studies. I’m only ‘studying’ abroad who would have thought the studying part of it was the important part? Haha But one of the main reasons that I haven’t been able to update so often is precisely because of this. First I’m going to answer a couple questions that you may have on your mind. Are the classes in English? No. They are completely in Spanish and taught by Spanish professors who also teach at the Universidad de Sevilla. Are they difficult? In one word: Yes. In more words: They are difficult because you have to not only know what they are saying; they are also introducing new topics that you have to wrap your mind around. Basically think of it as trying to wrap your mind around the concept of the stock market while at the same time translating every word that they say from Pig Latin into English. One of the cool things about this experience is not only that I am rapidly increasing my ability to speak in Spanish (and surprisingly losing some of my English…weird phenomena), but I am also getting used to walking in class and finding it perfectly normal that the professor is not speaking English. The interesting thing is that I have a feeling that it will feel really weird to walk into a classroom when I get back to the States and hear the professors speaking English. The major problem right now is getting the professors to understand what I’m trying to say when I try to answer a question or respond to one of theirs. This is mostly because the way that Americans are taught Spanish is mid-American Spanish (like from Colombia or the Dominican Republic) as opposed to the Spain type of Spanish, so its like going to England and asking where the elevator is and them looking at you funny because 1. You have an American accent and 2. Because they call it the lift not the elevator.

Another interesting thing about studying here is that I have classes in three different buildings. Those of you at Purdue will probably say no biggie I do too, the difference is that in Seville there are two Universities 1. Pablo de Olavide which is more compact and like the universities in the states (or so I hear I haven’t visited there yet) and 2. Universidad de Sevilla which is an entirely different story and where I technically attend. The Universidad de Sevilla has one main building in the center of town which has the history, philosophy and geography sections then has random buildings around the city that host the law, education, audio visual, business and other schools or facultades within the university.

So two days a week I go to the main building which many years ago was an old tobacco factory and is an absolutely gorgeous building for my History of Slavery in Latin America, and the CIEE center which is another old renovated building more towards the older part of Seville for my Culture of Flamenco Class. Then the other two days I go to a more modern building which we call FCEYE (Facultad de ciencias economicas y empresariales = the business school) for my Managing Diversity, Finance and Marketing classes. The worst part about having the classes in different places is that from my homestay it’s about a 15 minute walk to FCEYE, 20 minute walk to the old Tobacco factory and a 30 minute walk to the CIEE center….all of them in different directions. But as Mindy said in her post, there is no need for an iPod because the city creates a music of its own, and I get to walk by the Plaza de Espana twice a week to get to the tobacco factory, so I guess that’s not too hard to get used to.

One Response to “Studying in Seville?”

  1. Idolina Doyka February 17, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    It’s so strange that my abroad experience already feels like forever ago, and it’s even more interesting to see someone else having similar experiences. My English did in fact become horrible as well, as I was used to speaking Spanish all the time. And it WILL be strange coming back and realizing everyone is speaking English. Just enjoy every moment you have, it goes quickly! I already wish I could go back to Alicante…

Leave a Reply

