“Na-Nu, Na-Nu”

15 Feb

Apparently, having the name Mindy in Ireland immediately triggers people to think of the late 70’s television show Mork and Mindy starring Robin Williams as an alien from planet Ork.  Now obviously, I have watched the show, but I haven’t heard people talk about it in years. So needless to say I was a little surprised when I introduced myself in class the first week and my teacher immediately said “Oh, like Mork & Mindy. Na-Nu, Na-Nu.” Since then, I have been related to that show by numerous Irish people, mostly adult men.  It’s fascinating! One actor I met through my internship even asked if my parents had named me after the show! And I’m pretty sure my teacher is thinking about Mork & Mindy everytime he says my name. Truthfully, I have no complaints about this.  I loved watching the show growing up. I mean, who wouldn’t love a young Robin Williams in rainbow suspenders?!  I have just never heard my name related to an old American sitcom so often in my life!  Then again, Mindy isn’t a very common name here.  As the man at the pub told me last night, “You must be American. You couldn’t get away with a name like that in Ireland!” I’m just going to take that as a compliment because the Irish people here genuinely seem to love Americans.  They always get very excited and ask us plenty of questions when they find out where we’re from and why we’re in Ireland. The most interesting part is that they always seem to know we’re from America before they ever talk to us. Maybe it’s the way we dance…

One Response to ““Na-Nu, Na-Nu””

  1. Afton in Freiburg February 17, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Ditto on the way we dance thing! Every club I’ve gone to, they can tell we are foreign when we dance, girls and guys both.

Leave a Reply

