Has studying abroad already changed my life?!

15 Feb

Any of you considering studying abroad, I have one suggestion for you…. DO IT!!!! How often are you going to get the opportunity to travel and live in another country while you’re in college?! Not very often! So if you’re even slightly considering going somewhere through study abroad, then do it!  I cannot even begin to tell you how much studying abroad in Dublin has already changed me.  I feel like my path in life is so much more focused now that I have been living in Ireland for over a month.  I feel more independent because I have had to budget for all of my trips, food, and other goodies.  I have learned to navigate my way around a big city by myself without getting too lost.  I have learned that it is difficult to focus on school work when you’re living a bustling, European city where there’s always something you want to go see and do.  I have also managed to adjust to apartment-living in Dublin (water problems and all).  All of this has made me realize that I would love to live in a city like Dublin someday.  I love being able to walk everywhere.  I love not needing my iPod because the noise of the city and the juxtaposition of old and new buildings makes every walk new and exciting.  I love people coming up to me in the streets and asking me for directions.  I love the street musicians.  I love the Irish people and the pubs.  I just love the city culture itself!  I can definitely see myself coming back here someday. 

Beyond the atmosphere of the city though, I think the most important aspect of studying abroad for me has been my internship.  My work experience with The Abbey Theatre has been so much more than I could have ever asked for from an internship.  My co-workers are incredible people!  They are always so friendly, and they get so much accomplished each day.  The theatre archives is phenomenal!  I cannot believe how much history I get to encounter and learn about every day by working in the archives.  I’ve held important documents and paintings.  I’ve assisted researchers.  I’ve gone to play rehearsals and performances where I’ve gotten to meet actors, directors, writers, and set designers amongst many other hard-working theatre folk.  It’s just incredible to me how hands-on and fascinating my internship has been so far!  Every single day has been completely different, so it never gets boring.  I have never felt so happy in a workplace before.  I honestly believe that I would be thrilled to do this kind of work for the rest of my life.  I seriously could not have anticipated how much my study abroad internship would have helped me and guided my future career plans.  I finally feel like I know exactly what I want to do with my life, and any of you who know me understand that it has taken me quite some time to figure that out!  I honestly have never been happier, and I wouldn’t trade this study abroad experience for the world! 

So if you can study abroad during your college career, then please take my advice.  Do it before you miss your opportunity of a lifetime! It doesn’t matter where you go.  Each place will present you with a different experience!

2 Responses to “Has studying abroad already changed my life?!”

  1. Michael February 18, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    I’m convinced!

  2. Kyle Bartlett February 25, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Completely Agree! Keep up the posts!

    -Kyle

Leave a Reply

