Freiburgsick

31 Jan

Rather than remembering Berlin fondly for years to come as a beautiful city of history and German culture, I will forever remember it as the time I nearly lost my life.  Alright, so that sounds cooler than it actually was.  All I had was a cold, but it was the worst cold of my life people.  Instead of going out with all of my IES family until the wee hours of the morning, I was stuck in bed the past two nights, hanging on for dear life.  Yet instead of feeling homesick and wishing my parents were there to take care of me,  all I wanted was to be in my hard, single bed in Freiburg.  I was Freiburgsick.  And I really missed Walmart, which I am ashamed as a human being to admit.  You have no idea the luxury of being able to go to one place to get everything you need.  I would’ve paid 50 Euro for an orange juice that wasn’t freaking carbonated.  I mean honestly, they carbonate freaking everything over here. On the plus side, I am the absolute master of public transportation now, considering we spent four hours on Monday night going back and forth all over Berlin trying to find good bars.  We spent a total of 10 minutes in two bars in that entire time frame.  The absolute chaos of it all with my IES family was well worth it.

Anyways, now we are in Prague in the Czech Republic and we just got done doing a walking tour of the city.  The best way to describe it is the New York City of the EU, with better architecture.  They have KFC. And TGI Fridays.  I’m adapting to this new culture the best I know how, and enjoying every minute of it, but you have no idea how happy I was to see TGI Fridays. So now I sit in my wonderful hotel room, dethawing my body from the frigid cold, until another day in the wonderful life of IES European Union.

Click on the link to see all the places I visited in Berlin.

http://picasaweb.google.com/afton.mortensen/Berlin#

Leave a Reply

