Afton Takes a Tumble

18 Jan

After starting out my day rough with the mistaken purchase of carbonated apple juice (really Germany?), part of my program made a day trip to the Schwarzwald or Black Forest.  The one thing I want to take a moment rub in the face of all my fellow Boilermakers still stuck in the cornfields of the Midwest–its actually possible for it to be sunny while cold.  Back in West Lafa, if its 30 degrees, overcast and clouds always seem to go in hand.  But not in Freiburg, the “sunniest city in Germany”.  I rarely say a cold day is beautiful, considering I am the biggest sissy when it comes to cold, but it definitely was beautiful. We took the train from Freiburg through the country to Titisee Lake and the town surrounding.  We “hiked” through the forest.  At one point I was expecting Edward to come out and demand for me to say out loud he was a vampire. (Does anyone else have Twilight nightmares when they walk through a forest??) We went through a very small and isolated mountain town, of course walking down the middle of the street, because we’re American tourists.  Nothing less is expected.  Then yes, as my title suggests, I pulled a “Scarlet Takes a Tumble” moment (for anyone who doesn’t know of this, youtube it).  Let me break it down for you:  we were approaching a small fork in the road, amidst massive meadows of snow covered grass, surrounded by tree covered hills riddled with small German-style cottages–very Sound of Music-esque.  As I approach the fork in the road, my legs had a difficult choice to make.  With the voices of my peers echoing around me, “Watch out.  Theres ice there…”, I unsuccessfully attempted to baby step across the ice.  With my very first step–SLAM.  Straight down on my hip.  Ironically enough, I was the only one wearing snow boots, too.  So now I have a broken right toe and busted left hip.  You don’t need these things to walk…  Anyways, afterwards we walked more, stopped at a restaurant, and I had my first very authentic German meal.  Wiener schnitzel und Kartoffelsalat.  Basically two long hot dogs and some potato salad with curry supposedly?  And of course, Black Forest Cake in the Black Forest 🙂  Intensive phase starts tomorrow, 9AM.  Good luck to me.

Again, copy and paste this link if you’d like to see my pictures from the day

http://picasaweb.google.com/105170529725638481140/Schwarzwald#

2 Responses to “Afton Takes a Tumble”

  1. GrandPa Jim January 22, 2011 at 4:06 am #

    Love you and miss you Kidddo…. Do me a favor, get some saurkraut and tell me how it is over there……LOL…. See you when you get home… God Bless.. and remember who LOVES you..
    GrandPa Jim

  2. Mom January 22, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Hope your hip is feeling better. Looking forward to the next blog and pictures from Berlin. Love you–

Leave a Reply

