Dia dhuit! Hello from Dublin!

12 Jan

So… I have officially been in Dublin for one whole week now, and I have to say I really love it here! Sure there have been some ups and downs during this past week, but all in all it has been incredible! So, let me fill you in on some details from my first experiences in Dublin.

1) The plane ride to Dublin was not scary at all. The only frustrating part about the airports was all of the security checks out of the U.S. & into Ireland. It was simple enough, but the lines were pretty long and boring. Once I got my luggage from the carousel, a group of us made our way to the terminal to meet up with our program leaders. All of that was a breeze, but as soon as I was told to head outside & get a taxi by myself to my apartment I started to freak out a little. I had never been out of the country, used Euros, or been in a taxi by myself. Most importantly, I had no idea where I was going or what I should expect. Thank goodness these Irish folk are so friendly! A taxi driver immediately came over & loaded up my bags while I climbed into the passenger seat where the driver’s seat should be. It was so surreal driving on the opposite side of the road just trying to take in my surroundings. My taxi driver was so friendly, and he told me some history about the area as he took me on a mini tour of the city on the way to my apartment. He genuinely seemed to care about me & made sure that the man waiting outside my apartment building was the staff member I was supposed to be meeting! How lovely!

2) My apartment is fairly small, and it is definitely not meant for 3-4 people. The oven doesn’t have numbers, the hot water doesn’t work, and we don’t get to dry our clothes.  But I love it regardless because I have two fantastic roommates, a room to myself with a wonderful view, and a prime location for city centre shopping and activities! We have to walk a lot more here to get to class though and I have already broken my new pair of boots, but that just gives me a good excuse to go shopping for some cuter (& sturdier) Irish shoes, right?!

3) I have already made a bunch of new friends in my program through city tours, pub nights, and orientation.  I have also taken 2 out of my 5 classes which all focus on Irish culture, history, and politics, and they are fantastic! But best of all, I have completed 2 full internship days with The Abbey Theatre! This is the oldest theatre in Dublin, and I get the wonderful opportunity to work in the archives department where I get to help locate, catalog, and preserve photos and programs from over 100 years of plays. The staff is incredible, and I know I am going to love every minute of my time spent with them!

 Slán go foil! (Goodbye for now!)

One Response to “Dia dhuit! Hello from Dublin!”

  1. purdueabroad January 12, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    Hey Mindy!

    Glad you made it over there safely and with only a couple hiccups.

    I remember when I first made it to Dublin and how surprised I was at the lack of dryers. As embarrassing as it is, that was one of the hardest parts of living in Ireland–trying to find a spot to dry all my clothes once they were washed.

    Good luck and have fun!

Leave a Reply

