“I’m leaving on a jetplane…”

10 Jan

So, it’s officially the day I leave for Dublin, and I am so excited! Preparing for 4 months in Ireland has not been easy, though.  Making last-minute runs to the store, tearing up my room and packing furiously, and best of all… getting the stomach flu the day before I leave! What a whirlwind! Let’s just say that after the past couple of days I’ve had, I will have no problem falling asleep on that 8-hour plane ride to the Emerald Isle!  Despite the sickness and stress, I could not be more excited for this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to study abroad in Ireland! It’s something I have been planning since my first semester at Purdue! As someone who has never left the country (minus Niagra Falls, Canada), I am overwhelmed with emotions! I am thrilled that I will actually be in Europe soon, but I am nervous at the same time.  I know I will love every minute of my time abroad if I make the most of it by embracing my independence!  Sure, I’ll miss my friends and family at times, but I know they are all happy for me and waiting patiently for stories and pictures.  Well… Dublin is calling my name, so I’d better go!  Tune in next time for the details of my first encounter with the Emerald Isle!

Leave a Reply

