A journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step

10 Jan

Studying abroad really takes a lot of time.  If I could do it over again I would have taken the time it would take to get everything together into consideration when I was planning my schedule for the Fall semester. 

However, I don’t want to scare you away from this.  I knew that I wanted to live in Europe at some point in my life whether it be for three months or three years.  So on a whim I went to the liaison in Krannert and talked to her about my possibilities of being able to study abroad.  I had changed majors a few times so I knew my schedule was tight, with hardly any room for error.  After talking with her about which classes would transfer back and writing out my plan of study for my remaining semesters I found that I really could do this! 

Since I was still a bit apprehensive about doing this, and I still hadn’t talked to my parents about it, I did everything non-100%-committal I could right off the bat.  To be honest I thought the hardest part would have been talking to my parents.  When the time actually came to asking them, I was almost sure that they wouldn’t let me, but the response I got from them was “That’s a great opportunity what do we have to do to get you there?”  Some good news for you out-of-state students like myself, is that with airfare and tuition and all that, my program actually ended up being less than a semester at Purdue (something to think about J), and there are so many travel grants that the study abroad office informs you about as well.

So to make a long story short, I made my way through the step-by-step checklist the study abroad office had made and the checklist from the program I was going through and here I am, about 15 days away from taking that long flight to Spain.  Although you may think that the semester before you go abroad is going to creep by, it really does fly so take time to make the most out of it, cause just think about how fast it will fly when you are in another country!

If you are a student even minutely thinking about studying abroad, then if you read nothing else in this post I hope that you read this: Take the time to talk to the study abroad office or your college study abroad liaison.  Even though you may not think that you have the opportunity, may it be for financial or academic reasons, it only takes maybe twenty minutes.  You might be surprised; you could be just like me, only days away from flying off to live in another country for a couple of weeks or for an entire year.  Also, take a look at Afton’s first blog, it has a lot of good tips about making it through the planning process.

All that is left for me is to tie up loose ends, grab a few last-minute necessities and before I know it I’ll be saying, Hasta Luego los Estados Unidos y Hola Sevilla!

4 Responses to “A journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step”

  1. MOM January 10, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    Looks like it’s a go! I’m looking forward to getting the updates on your adventures in Sevilla. You’ll have a great time and learn so much.

  2. Idolina Doyka January 12, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    I just got back from spending my semester abroad in Alicante, and I actually did visit Sevilla while I was there. You’re right–it absolutely flew by! I hope you love Spain as much as I did, it will truly be the time of your life. My biggest tip to you is to make Spanish friends–that was one of the highlights of my experience. Best of luck to you, buen viaje!

  3. April Robillos January 14, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    For someone who decided to study abraod at the last minute — you were very organized, on the ball, responsible, positive, never late … you get the idea. I’m sure these traits will serve you well during your time in Spain. I look forward to following your blog! Take care. Have a terrific time.

    April

  4. suepoletti00 January 17, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Hey Ash!

    Looking forward to hearing all about your adventure! Have fun and immerse yourself into the culture. We love you.

    Aunt Sus

Leave a Reply

