Thanksgiving

29 Nov

November 25, 2010

In America it’s Thanksgiving today.  Here it is not.  And there is close to 0% probability of procuring turkey in Japan.

So today was pretty much a normal day of school, and it’s looking like it’s gonna be a normal evening, except there are a number of additional reasons that I’m feeling a little down.  (I don’t really want it to be a normal day on Thanksgiving.)

Even though I don’t altruistically believe that Thanksgiving is really a holiday for stopping and appreciating all of the wonderful stuff you have (if you ask me it’s mostly about mashed potatoes, gravy, pumpkin pie, and a marginally criminal amount of turkey), I’m going to take a minute to do the cheesiest, most culturally shallow, middle school-iest project and list the things I have to be grateful for.  Mostly because I need the reminder for myself.

As much as I whine, I’m really grateful that I get to be in Japan.  For as close to free as is ever likely to happen.  This is in itself pretty awesome.

I’m so happy to have met cool people, who care about me and are looking out for me, are interesting to talk to, and use their brains on a regular basis.  First, my host family (but most particularly Yuko, my host mom).  Eta, the least-Japanese Japanese guy I know.  Hiroko from manga club, who actually made a point to talk to and befriend the two white girls sitting by themselves.  And of course a shout-out to the other foreign students who’ll give me the time of day and/or have thoughtful things to say (there are a lot to list, so I’m just gonna leave it at that).

It’s also really wonderful to have a home to be looking forward to going back to.  I’ve got an awesome supportive family that includes adorable nieces and nephews, wicked cool sisters, artsy smart parents, and the seemingly thousand-strong Hill and Edwards clans of in-laws, uncles and cousins.

I got to talk to my mom and dad on the phone for Thanksgiving.  It was a little brief for my taste, but probably already far too expensive.

My parents and my husband get along and promise to look out for each other when I decide to take off to Japan for a year.  (And then actually follow through.)

And I don’t know how I lucked out on this one, but I’m married to pretty much the best guy in the world.  He’s just the right combination of fun and responsible, meaning he may splurge on that cool new video game (that honestly I’m dying to play too) and eat pizza every day for a week, but he also makes sure he’s at work every day and the bills are paid and the cat is fed.  Even when it means he’s up until 6:30 in the morning, he takes the time to tell me he loves me and talk about what’s going on with his life every single day.

Parenthetically, I’m incredibly thankful for Skype.

And when you have that much going for you, at the end of the day it’s hard to find too much to complain about.

Thanks guys!

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving”

  1. Nona November 29, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    Hi
    Been reading up on you. Glad to see you get to come home for Christmas. Thanksgiving was good glad Austin came, always glad to have him. Time will go fast and you will be home soon.
    Hope to see pictures.
    Nona

  2. Sherri Monahan December 1, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Hey Girl!
    I so very much enjoy your posts and getting updates! I agree with Carlene that you should write a book – I would definitely buy a copy! I’m looking forward to your coming home for Christmas, I have something I would like to share with you- Austin says you will like them, all I will say is that they are antiques. I have joked about bacon wrapped in bacon when you visit – do you want anything special when you’re here? Only a few more weeks ’til break – see you soon!
    -Aunt Sherri

Leave a Reply

