“Occhokochoi!”

7 Sep

September 7, 2010

Have any of you heard this word, “Occhokochoi” before?  I learned it about two days ago and it is quickly becoming the second most useful Japanese phrase I know after “I don’t understand.”

After I tripped on absolutely nothing on a nice walk by the river in Gifu, I asked my host mom how you say “clumsy.”  There is another word she guessed would be the dictionary definition but recommended, for my situation, this wonderful word “occhokochoi.”  So, after opening a shaken soda all over the dining room, stubbing my toe, dropping my hashi, dropping my DS, and several other hilarious incidents, I have only used this word about a million times.

I just looked it up and it is defined as “scatterbrained,” so I’m even more amused than before.

Today I also learned “Ooguisenshuken,” which I am DETERMINED TO FIND AN EXCUSE TO USE because I’m very fond of it.  It is “oo” (big), “kui” with voicing assimilation (lower-order verb for eating, like an animal), which together mean “gluttony,” and “senshuken,” or championship.  Can you guess what it is?  IT’S AN EATING CONTEST!!  I have no idea how on earth I’m gonna work that into conversation, but I will find a way!

Having a wonderful, positive time right now.  Particularly today.  Had a pretty rough time earlier this week and over the weekend, as far as feeling isolated, lonely, and like an outsider.  But I’m finding that the busier I keep myself and the more interesting things I learn, the better I feel.  Today was registration for classes and the welcome party, so I got to chat with actual Japanese students (and other foreign students, but mostly in Japanese) for about an hour and a half while eating free food.  Talk about a good time!

In other exciting news, I totally sat across from a Yakuza on the train this morning!  I’m sure of it!  Why else would this middle-aged, well-dressed, quiet and serious looking man be missing the first knuckle of his pinky!?

!!!

I did not make eye contact, and when I told Yuko about it later she said that was a very good choice.  I know it’s silly but I’m all, “EEEEE!!  IT’S TRUE!”

Pretty excited about classes starting, even if I’m not feeling confident about entering a higher level of Japanese class when I retest Thursday.  If I end up staying in 400 it’s okay, because what I’m really getting out of this experience so far is speaking practice in everyday situations, with people who will really patiently explain vocabulary and grammar to me.  I feel like that’s the most positive thing (academically) I’m going to gain from this semester.

3 Responses to ““Occhokochoi!””

  1. joan chivot September 12, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    Hi, Lynn. Sounds like you are going to be fine and will have fun. The time will fly by. I am glad you are going to be able to get home to Austin at Christmas. I will check your blog from time to time, to see how you are doing. It sounds like a great adventure. love, Joan

    • Karen September 19, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

      So with this missing knuckle- do they reattach the pinkie or just leave off the tip? I’ve never heard of this, only the full body tat suit thing.

      We love and miss you so much! Asher says he loves you super big huge!!!

      • Lynn in Nagoya September 26, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

        kenji later clarified for me – apparently the tip of the pinky is cut off as punishment for QUITTING the yakuza. which, in some sense makes me feel safer, because i wasn’t sitting across from a yakuza on the train, and in some sense worries me a little more, because HOW DO I KNOW WHO TO NOT MAKE ANGRY??

Leave a Reply

