Its 11:30 pm and I just heard a hyena.

19 Jul

When I’m in my tent ready to go to sleep, I still feel like I should be hearing the noises of the city. But instead I hear the call of a hyena in the distance followed by all the neighborhood dogs going crazy barking at it. It’s pretty cool. And a lot better than hearing cars.

If I could go on safaris every day for the rest of my life I would. Thursday and Friday we spent time at Lake Manyara National Park. The main purpose that we go on safaris is to study the mammals: do large mammal counts, study/record behavior, and do identification. Recording all that data= getting to see giraffes, elephants, hippos, Cape buffalos, zebras, wildebeests, monkeys, you name it. No large cats yet unfortunately, but I hear we’ll see plenty in the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Conservation Area. By the way I’m not sure if there’s supposed to be an ‘s’ after all those animal names but I’m just going to put one so I don’t have to look it up. Oh and I also learned what it’s really like to drive through the wilderness of Africa standing out the top of a land cruiser. Essential on this trip I think.

The best experiences of real Tanzanian culture over the past couple of days:

A goat roast with the SFS staff from Kenya and Tanzania. Like a legit roast by a fire and everything, with a perfect view of Tanzania.  It was great for pretty much everyone except goat.

Going to a church service in the city of Karatu. Luckily the priest knew English, so every once in a while he would stop and explain to us what was happening. I’m not sure if he explains the service to all his visitors if they don’t speak Swahili, or if he just did that for us because we all had a lost look on our faces. I’m gonna go with the first one. It was one of the most interesting church services and I’d definitely go back again. Afterwards, everyone that was there went outside to participate in some sort of auctioning of the gifts received during the service, and when that was done, all the native people were coming up to us and shaking our hands to welcome us. I think they like us!

Going  to an Iraqw village. They let us put on clothes and beads that they wear, participate in their tribal dances which were hilarious and fun at the same time, and try some of their maize that they cooked. The best part: watching Daniel and Charles (two guys from Kenya who are part of the SFS staff) do the dances. It was definitely worthy of some video taking.

3 classes tomorrow and the next day we’re off on a safari to Tarangire this time!

P.S. Did I mention I’m not a fan of scorpions and literally HUGE ants. Mosquito bite count: one…

2 Responses to “Its 11:30 pm and I just heard a hyena.”

  1. Mom July 20, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    Hi Savanna: Gosh I can only imagine what you’re seeing and hearing – would love to be there to experience it! I’m so glad you were given the opportunity to study there. Can hardly wait to see your pictures. Enjoy every day!! Love, Mom

  2. Aunt Carole July 22, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    Savanna: You need to publish a book when you get home – Great reading!!! I miss U so much but it sounds like you are really busy and doing a lot of cool things. Can’t wait to see all the pictures when you get back. LOVE YOU c a

Leave a Reply

