Life in Africa

15 Jul

Finally arrived in Africa! Well on Monday night I did. It’s amazing here but that barely describes it. We had a classroom lecture today and I think all of our orientation is done; so now we get to learn about the good stuff. No more lectures on parasites and Malaria! Heading to Lake Manyara tomorrow to see some wildlife and have a field lecture, I’m pretty excited about that. It’s basically the real start of our ‘coursework’ now and I don’t think it can get much better than traveling to National Parks to learn about wildlife conservation and management while at the same time  seeing lions, elephants and everything else all in the same day.

There’s this trail that we can hike by our camp and I went on it today with a couple other people. We saw the coolest birds and I’m pretty sure I’m becoming a professional photographer! I mean maybe not professional, just good. But there really were some incredible looking birds. There are also some houses along the trail where the Iraqw and Maasai people live. They’re not really houses, actually more like huts with the thatched roof and all (like you see in pictures of Africa, that’s seriously what they look like if you were wondering), but I think I can just call them houses since the people do live in them. The kids here are SO cute, never thought I’d say that about kids! We walk down the trail and they all come running to us saying ‘jambo’ which means hello. They like to shake hands too. I’m not sure how much English they know but one little kid told us his name and was acting all nice  before he exclaimed, “Give me your money!” or something along those lines. We kind of just walked away from him… Anyways it was incredible seeing the way everyone lives around here. It’s so different. You know the pictures where you see African women carrying jars/buckets on their head? I saw that today. I had to go to the side of the trail to let a couple cow and goat herds go pass today too. I don’t think I would ever really see that walking down the streets of Indiana. Well I guess I could but it probably wouldn’t be a good situation for the owner of those cows.

Oh also, the showers have hot water. I’m actually a little upset about that. Mosquito bite count: ZERO!

3 Responses to “Life in Africa”

  1. Dad July 16, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    I think the boy was asking for a handout – and I bet that if someone gave him 50cents, that the whole community would be following you around, or, you’d have a friend for life —
    Glad your having a good trip –
    New York city was a blast —

    Love, Dad

  2. Christy July 16, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    I can tell already I’m going to enjoy reading all of your postings. Can’t wait to read more and see all the pics you’re taking. Have a great time Savanna!

  3. Aunt Carole July 18, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    This is too cool!! Miss U

Leave a Reply

