Les taureaux!

8 Jul

Sometimes I feel like I’m wasting my time in France by being online all the time, talking with my friends, uploading photos, etc… But then I look at those photos that I upload and realize that I’m worrying over nothing. I’ve definitely been up to some pretty fun stuff.

Monday, I went to the Cocarde D’Or, which is an event where a bunch of men try to grab things off the horns of a bull. There were, I think, 6 or 7 rounds total, and there was a different bull each round. No, this is not the type of bullfight where anything gets killed. Still, some friends back home said, “That’s so mean!” when I told them about it. But really, this is almost exactly what me and my friends do to my little dog, only on a much grander scale, haha.

Anyway, it really was fun to watch. First of all, it took place in the ancient Roman arena, and I think it’s awesome that these ancient structures are still used to this day to host events. It lasted about 2.5-3 hours-ish, but it didn’t feel that long at all. It was so cool, the way the men ran at the bull, grabbed at a horn, and launched themselves over the fence to keep from getting impaled by the horns. A few of the bulls were pretty angry, though, and even attacked the fence! The first time it happened, I was shocked, because I thought the bull could get loose, now that it broke part of the fence, but of course, that didn’t happen. The fence around the arena was constructed so that the wooden slats could easily be replaced after the bulls tore them off.

I’m sure you guys are probably worried about the men who decided to place themselves in an arena with an angry bull, but don’t worry. Nobody got too injured. A couple guys fell, but there’s a space beneath the fences for them to crawl away safely to the other side. There was just one guy who got his leg ripped a bit from the horn. This all made me realize something very strange… You’d think that this would be by far the more dangerous sport, but as I watch the World Cup, it seems more people get hurt playing soccer than charging at an angry bull.

And that’s probably my favorite thing I did this week. I guess they’re doing more of these bull runs every Wednesday and Friday, I think, so I’d definitely be interested in going again. Plan for this weekend… Camargue! And next week is Bastille Day! I’m really looking forward to that!

Leave a Reply

