If There’s A City That I Can Marry, It Would Be Paris

22 Jun

The city has been mentioned in every feature, be it a movie, a song, a cooking show, painting, and almost anything you can think of. Paris, the most enchanting city. Or so I opine.

I had a unique opportunity to stay in Paris at the house of my friend’s aunt. She is married to a French man and has a daughter. In addition to be welcomed by a very nice family, I was also introduced to the French household and tradition. Croissants, baguettes, multiple kinds of cheese, and different things that I had no idea before. My Paris Love #1: The pastry and the cheese.

I was in the city for three days and two nights. It was absolutely not enough to fully enjoy all the points of interests, but at least I went to the major attractions, namely the well-known Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, Notre Dame Cathedral, Sacré-Coeur, and Louvre Museum. Personally, I don’t think the attractions are incredibly spectacular or anything, but they are very scenic, while the city itself that is very romantic. Great combination. For Louvre Museum, I absolutely love it. It’s one of the large museums out there, just like the Vatican museum. What I love about it: Great collections, less crowd. Vatican museum is hard to enjoy because it is just flooded with people and out of control. My Paris Love #2: The city and its atmosphere.

As always, however, good things are never without flaws. I will just go through this part really quickly. Firstly, apart from having a good underground subway system, the stations are poorly maintained. The condition is similar to the ones in New York, if you have ever been there. Dirty, sometimes smell awful. Trains painted with graffiti or carved with some random writings. Secondly and lastly, everything is not cheap in Paris. This is not necessarily a bad thing about the city, but of course is not a good thing, either. =)

So, if you’re visiting Europe, you shouldn’t miss this wonderful place. (Although I’m sure you would be smart enough you won’t miss it. I mean, c’mon!!)

Since the button to post pictures in the post is missing, here’s the link where you can see ’em: Paris Pictures on my website.

Leave a Reply

