I’ve Been All Swedish and No Finish

2 Mar

“A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles” – Tim Cahill

Dear Blog Followers (If there are any of you still out there),

I would like to take this opportunity to express my deepest apologies that I have been such an absentee blogger as of late. I know that there are no excuses for my delinquency however, that won’t stop me from providing some.

So here you are, the top ten reasons that I have been on hiatus,

1. Hosted my first visitor (Alison, my best friend from the states) for one amazing week

2. Took an ice breaker ship to Riga, Latvia TWICE and survived the most watched place on earth TWICE

3. Enjoyed the nightlife in Uppsala including clubs, pubs, and late night trips to MAX, Sweden’s signature fastfood joint

4.  Missed a ferry and got stranded on an island off the coast of Finland on Valentine’s Day with nine super fun people

5. Settled in and started doing things like taco night, movie night, and going to the gym with friends

6. Explored the city of Stockholm

7. Outfitted my room with reasonably priced accessories from the one and only IKEA

8. Planned upcoming trips to Amsterdam, Paris, and Germany

9. Attended the International Gasque a formal Swedish dinner

10. Rode my bike in the snow and subsequently wiped out riding my bike in the fresh snow

Hopefully in the near future I will be able to elaborate on some of the adventures listed above. Many of them are good stories, which is why I’m sorry I wasn’t more diligent about recording them in real time. During the month of February I was very absorbed in my life here in Sweden. I felt that I needed to disconnect myself from the states in order to really immerse myself in new experiences here. However, now that I’ve settled in and made friends I’m ready to start sharing my experiences and start reflecting upon them.

Thanks again for bearing with me during the February hibernation of my blog,

Amanda

One Response to “I’ve Been All Swedish and No Finish”

  1. April April 21, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Amanda – you daredevil you!! But I am delighted that you appear to have really settled in! You must tell me what International Gasque and being stranded on a Finnish island were like :-)!!

Leave a Reply

