First of Many

4 Feb

Hello!!!!! You are reading Abby’s blog and I am studying abroad in Adelaide, Australia at the University of South Australia (UniSA). I am currently a sophomore in the Undergraduate Studies Program trying to get a degree in health science. Not really too sure what I specifically want to do in the health science field but I’m hoping a semester in Australia might help with that. Besides the obvious reasons of choosing to study abroad such as figuring myself out and having an adventure of a lifetime, I made the decision to study in Australia so I could spend more time with my sister Sari’s new family. She moved to Australia almost three years ago and has since had two beautiful daughters named Emerson (23 months) and Lilah (11 months). Sari met her husband Kim when he was studying abroad at Purdue for a semester. A short time later they got married in Las Vegas and promptly moved to Australia. Other than this being a good story to mention, I wanted to include them in this introduction because the majority of the blogs will include them and what we have done together. Family as I have learned is quite a necessity when traveling abroad. Culture shock is not nearly as rough if you have someone who can relate to the feelings you are having and my sister really helped me a lot in that area. I also have to mention now that I met a local young man who has been more than wonderful in showing me around South Australia. He will be in my blogs as well since he has turned out to be a really great friend and extremely patient with my unending questions about Australia.   

Letting you know what’s coming up next in my blog is the all time dread of traveling the “packing.” As a hint to how it went for me, let’s just day it took a full day, which is insane if you ask me. Hope you enjoyed my introduction and will keep a lookout for the next blog. There’s never a dull moment with this country girl especially when I’ve never traveled alone in my life and the longest flight I’ve been on was four hours. This is going to be super entertaining! Cheers!!!

One Response to “First of Many”

  1. Jennifer Durflinger March 23, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    Hey Abby,

    Not sure if you remeber me, I work with your mom at the beach.

    I just wanted to say that I’m very proud of you for going to college and that it is just AWESOME that your doing it in Austrailia. I hope you have a wonderful time while your there and I look forward to reading your blogs in the future.

    Good luck with everything

    Jen

Leave a Reply

