About Goodbyes…

2 Feb

…I’m terrible at them. In the couple of days leading up to my departure, I felt mostly excitement for my upcoming trip, with a slight twinge of nervousness. As soon as I drove with my family and my girlfriend, Kait, to the airport Monday morning, it was a whole different story. Tears were shed, hugs were extended way past the normal 2-3 seconds, and, in all honesty, it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. I write this not to discourage people from studying abroad, because I’m sure I will have a fantastic time during the next three months, but just to consider what sort of emotional toll leaving for a long time can take on you.

So enough with the bad stuff, how about some good? Well, after two more connecting flights out of Charlotte and Providencials, I finally arrived at the research center around 5:30 p.m. (same as Indiana time). The view from the front lawn of the center is stunning. We arrived just in time to watch the sun go down behind the ocean, with a solitary boat sitting out on the water bobbing up and down. It was like a scene straight out of a painting.

The rooms are simple but large enough to accomodate up to four people; I was lucky and got put in a room with only 3. We had a short slide show highlighting the dangers of aquatic life and were also introduced to everyone in the center, who are all extremely kind. Classes start tomorrow at 7 a.m., no slack for the noobies. Until next time!

5 Responses to “About Goodbyes…”

  1. purdueabroad February 2, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    Joe–fantastic to hear you made it safely to TCI. Enjoy the weather–today was a balmy 25 degrees here and I noticed over by you it was 84 and sunny, so whenever you are missing home, just let the sunny weather cheer you up!

  2. Lightning McQueen February 2, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    Have fun getting delicously tan and ripped from all the swimming. I’ll have to settle for running on a treadmill and laying in a tube of lightbulbs just to catch up to you.

  3. Michael February 4, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Your first paragraph is what makes blogs special.

  4. Glenda (study abroad office) February 4, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    Hi Joe!

    Have you seen any cool spotted eagle rays yet? Nice sunsets? We envy you for being in warm weather–more snow expected tonight…
    😦

  5. Joe February 9, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Haven’t seen any eagle rays, but I have seen a huge southern stingray, and a few barracudas!

Leave a Reply

