I’m Leaving On a Jet Plane…

1 Feb

So I have one day left until departure, and I’ve been getting progressively more excited/nervous throughout the week. I got the last of my supplies and equipment today, so the only task left is to pack everything. Trying to figure out how to fit everything I’ve bought over the past few months into three bags that can’t exceed 44 pounds is a little daunting, but I guess it’s lucky I have a Mom who knows what she’s doing. My flight leaves on 7 a.m. Monday morning, so I’ll be arriving in Turks and Caicos around 4 or 5 in the evening.

I was finally able to complete my PADI certification course. The weather worked out in my favor and I was able to go down to Alabama where I met a Scuba instructor who took me to a small spring in Florida for the final two dives. The “spring” turned out to be little more than hole in the wall place, no bigger than a really, really small pond; and my scuba instructor was an interesting guy to say the least, but I was relieved to get the certification, knowing that I would be diving in the Caribbean in just a couple of short weeks. I was impressed with some of the wildlife I saw while diving in Florida (eels and a few huge bass fish), so the Caribbean will probably blow my mind! I’m taking a digital camera down to Turks and Caicos with me, but I had to forgo buying an underwater camera casing for it as those generally run at least several hundred dollars, and I had already spent more than enough buying everything else I needed.

As I write this a day before I leave, I’m surprisingly not that nervous to be headed down there for three months, mostly excited; although I’m sure a few nerves will pop up once I get to the airport. Overall, I can’t wait to get on the plane and head down there!

One Response to “I’m Leaving On a Jet Plane…”

  1. Lightning McQueen February 1, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    A few nerves? I hope you have a great time and write as much as possible in this blog so I can keep up to date!!

Leave a Reply

