First Impressions

22 Jan

 

When preparing to travel, lay out all your clothes and all your money.  Then take half the clothes and twice the money.  ~Susan Heller

 

After lugging my suitcase around for three days and seeing all of the shopping that Sweden has to offer I would like to formally indorse this quote.

Wow there is so much to say. It’s hard to know where to begin. My flight to Sweden was surprisingly smooth and seemed much shorter than 8.5 hours. I flew SAS and it was a great experience. During the flight they served us a snack, full dinner, and breakfast. They also came around constantly with warm and cold beverage service, and warm moist towels. It that’s what they do in the economy section I seriously wonder what kind of pampering is going on in first class. The flight was a great start to the trip even though it was very hard to sleep due to sheer excitement.

According to Swedish culture there are two crucial things one must do once they’ve arrived in Sweden- shop at IKEA and eat lunch at IKEA. On my very first day I did both. Uppsala University matches international students with buddies. Jackie’s buddy Elaine was nice enough to take us all around town which included this trip to IKEA. The three of us began by eating the traditional Swedish meatball meal at the IKEA café. The meal was made up of meatballs in a savory sauce accompanied by lingonberry jam and boiled potatoes. It was reasonably priced and very tasty. I would recommend it to a friend and order it again sometime. After lunch we shopped around IKEA and picked up the necessary items such as towels, bed sheets, and hangers. The store was similar to IKEAs at home but it seemed a little bit smaller and the carts were much smaller as well.

During the first few days we did a lot of other similar errands. My dormitory was still occupied by the previous student so I stayed with Jackie at her place. Jackie’s place is a modern studio apartment in a quaint area of town. The walk from the bus stop to her building is so beautiful and peaceful. It reminds me of the countryside and the movie The Holiday. Jackie’s building is inhabited by the math and science students. It is completely the opposite of Flogsta where I live. My residence is made up of 10 7-story buildings filled with fun-loving students. We live in corridors that have spacious single bedrooms with private bathrooms. Each corridor has a shared kitchen and common room with attached balconies which are great for hanging out in. Every building has a large roof deck and sauna room. The facilities are great; the Swedes really know how to put the fun in functional. There are always people to meet and gatherings to attend in Flogsta. In fact I’ve already been to a few of them. Jackie and I went to a welcome bash on the first Saturday night here. We met a few Swedes and many international students. Everyone was really friendly and we’ve already started making travel plans together.

After attempting to write this blog entry I’ve realized that waiting 5 days between entries is WAY too difficult. Thus, I vow to start writing everyday or every two days in order to make more complete and coherent entries.

Thanks for following my blog,

Tak,

Amanda

5 Responses to “First Impressions”

  1. Hannah January 27, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    Is Jackie living at Eklundshof?

    • Amanda in Sweden January 28, 2010 at 7:13 am #

      Yes she is, but she is actually moving into Flogsta today to be closer to everyone. It was really hard for her to decide because she loves how pretty and nice Ekludshof is. But it’s been annoying for her to have to take the bus back and forth from here to meet up with us for things.

  2. Nikky January 27, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    Hej~ I’m so happy the buddy system is working for you. When I went last fall they hadn’t had it implemented yet. I’m looking forward to hearing your experiences in Uppsala~ I miss it a lot, April sent me a link to your blog. 🙂

    You’re going to have a blast, share some photos hehe~ If you don’t mind me asking, where in Flogsta are you staying? 6-1 representing~ keke 😀

    Tack for sharing~!

    Vi ses,
    Nikky

    • Amanda in Sweden January 28, 2010 at 7:16 am #

      Hey, thanks for reading! I am living in 4 and I like it a lot. My view is of the trees and the sledding hill instead of looking in towards the other buildings. I love my room- way bigger than a US dorm. Things are so amazing here. I know I’m going to miss everything when I go back home as well.

      I will try and figure out the photos with my next blog.

  3. Sabah June 27, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    EEk, I get so excited reading other people’s vlogs on their experiences in Sweden! I’m going to be going soon on the exchange myself…starting August! I also chose eklundshof since me and my friend will be sharing the rooms together. I wanted to know what the policies are for having guests over in the residences? My friend from Australia, who I haven’t seen in years, is going to visit for a few weeks. I’m just scared of what the policies are like in eklundshof:|

Leave a Reply

