Settling-in Time!!

19 Jan

Hello everyone,

This is my second blog, first week of internship, and to be honest, there’s really not much going on at the office. All I’ve been doing is literature review*.

However, I can tell you that there are some interesting stories going on with my daily life. I’ve learned how to buy groceries, take the bus to downtown, all that jazz. Also, I happened to get my haircut here, not to mention I got lost for 20 minutes just to find out that the salon was just 3 minutes away from the bus station.

The lesson I can take so far is that, the first week is the most surprising time you can ever imagine in the study abroad. But hey, that’s why people always say, “There’s always a first time for everything.” Let me tell you, first of all, that my German skills are very basic. I can greet people, count some numbers, say thank you, and probably enough to ask one pound of chicken breast fillet from the butcher. Nevertheless, I went to the grocery store on Saturday morning, and I wanted to get one kilogram of chicken breast. So, I went to the butcher and asked for a chicken breast in my choppy German. She seemed to understand me well enough until she said something that I had no idea. Then I asked her if she can speak English, and then I ended up ordering using English.

The story doesn’t stop there. After getting some other things at the store, I felt like I needed another kilogram of chicken, so I went to the butcher, this time I got another butcher (there were about three butchers there), and then the butcher lady who served me before said to this guy butcher that either I can only speak English or that he needs to speak English with me. What’s funny, though, I didn’t give up with my crappy German and tried to ask this guy the chicken and he understood very well!! And he threw that weird look to the lady butcher kind of trying to say “I thought he can’t speak German.”

Moral of the story: It’s your first time, and you might have accent, but give it a try, because in the end they will understand you. Worse come to worse, they will end up talking to you in English.

Because, ladies and gentlemen, I realize that the more you step yourself back from trying your new language, you’re not learning and not earning anything useful.

That’s all I have for now. Let’s see if anything interesting happens next week. See ya!

* For those who don’t know what literature review is, it’s the first phase of an internship where one will read some journals and books to get some ideas about new problems that will be made as a project to be done.

Leave a Reply

