Setting Off to Scandinavia

14 Jan

“The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page”  ~St. Augustine

Today is the day. I leave for Sweden in approximately 12 hours! I’m just getting to this pre-departure blog now because my most recent days have been filled with emotional goodbyes to family and friends, money converting, setting up my parents’ Skype account, packing 11 sweaters into a vacuum compression bag, weighing suitcases and studying maps of Uppsala, Sweden where I’m going to be studying. At Purdue I am majoring in Hospitality and Tourism Management so while I’m in Sweden I’ll be taking classes about food and Swedish Culture. I’m a senior this year and will be graduating when I return home from Sweden. I’m really thrilled to end college with a sixth month trip abroad.

Amidst the last minute frenzy I have definitely experienced all of the cliché pre-departure emotions. I’ve felt lucky, nervous, excited, sad, happy, and more. But now that it’s actually time to leave I am 100% enthusiastic. Any doubts that I had before are gone. I couldn’t even sleep last night because I was so excited for today. It seems crazy to think that in 24 hours I’ll be experiencing Sweden and Europe for the very first time. I am flying from Chicago to Stockholm with another student from Purdue named Jackie. The flight is about 8 hours long but it’s overnight so hopefully we’ll be able to get some sleep. Then, we arrive in Stockholm and take a train about 30 minutes north to Uppsala. After that we’re going to play it by ear and figure out exactly what we need to do. The only thing that I can be sure of is that we’re going to IKEA at least once on our day.

Well, it’s about time for me to start packing up my Sudoku and snacks for the flight. I’ll blog again when I get settled in Sweden.

Ha det så bra
Take Care,

Amanda

Leave a Reply

