Pre-Departure

12 Jan

Soo..it’s getting to be crunch time! Just a few more days until I head out to Europe for the first time in my life; Florence, Italy to be exact. I’m actually currently back at Purdue for 2 days to say bye to people before I jet the country. I’m starting to get really excited and the vision of me going is becoming more and more clear. It was nice to get away for 2 days however because I was starting to get a little anxious with all the packing. You know, the “should I pack this, am I bringing too much of this, which purse should I bring”. It was starting to give me a headache after awhile, so I figured once I get back I would have a clearer mind set.

I will be leaving on January 14th, 2010. That is this coming Thursday. This is going to be a huge opportunity for me to grow as an individual and really live somewhere on my own and experience something that I have never gotten to do. I have always wanted to study abroad, even in high school. My dad went to London in college and he said it was the best thing he ever did. I also knew I wanted to go because my major is Hospitality and Tourism Management. I knew I needed some international travel experience before I graduated. I am going through the CAPA program and am living in an apartment with 3 other girls. The girls are from all over the country. One is from Oregon but goes to San Diego State. Another girl lives in Florida but goes to a small liberal arts school in Atlanta and another girl is from New Jersey and goes to school there. And then there is me, who is from Zionsville, Indiana which is a suburb outside of Indianapolis. So all over the country, which will be neat that we are all from different areas.

I leave Thursday and will be having a 9 hour flight out of Chicago O’hare, and then having a connecting flight from Zurich, Switzerland to Rome. Then I am taking a train from Rome to Florence. I also will be flying with a guy from Purdue that is in my program which is really comforting!

Well the next time you hear from me I will be in Italy..eeeek!!! so excitedd..

🙂

One Response to “Pre-Departure”

  1. Jane Goergen January 13, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    So excited for you! Keep me updated with your travels 🙂 See you this summer!!

Leave a Reply

