Off to Wien!

11 Jan

Hi! My name is Tia Forthofer and I am a Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences major at Purdue University! I leave in 2 days for an entire semester in the wonderful city of Vienna!

Many people have asked my why I chose Austria to study abroad. First of all, I went to Austria five years ago, and absolutely loved it. I fell in love with the country after one day, and have always wanted to return, and I finally have the chance! Secondly, I wanted to learn a new language, and what better way to learn a new language than to go to a country that speaks it! I have taken one semester of German, so I know the basics, and hopefully by the end of the term I will know enough to feel comfortable talking to Austrians in their native language! I knew I wanted to go to a country that didn’t speak English because I wanted to fully immerse myself in their culture. I feel that by going to Austria, I can do that! And I am so excited to do so!

While in Vienna, I will be taking classes (in English) at the IES center. I already know my address and roommates and have been talking to the via Facebook! My apartment is an hour and fifteen minute walk from the center, which will be a change from my walks at Purdue! I can’t wait to learn to take the U-bahn (subway) and see every corner of Vienna!

I am currently attempting to pack my life away in (hopefully) one suitcase! (It will probably end up being two!) Wish me luck! The next time I write I will be in Wien!

Auf Wiedersehen!

Leave a Reply

